Page 1 of 4

Re: No magnets?

Posted: Sun Oct 22, 2017 1:52 am
by Arbados
No magnets for me. My game tiles are placed on all sorts of gaming mat's and there's never been any need for them to be magnetized to the base. I also use 36x24" game mat's which these would require too many to equal that size.

Re: No magnets?

Posted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:15 pm
by biowizard
A little late to the discussion here, but I decided to forego magnets as I store my collection in metal drawers.

Re: No magnets?

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:29 pm
by kodiakbear
No magnets at the bottom of my tiles for me, My KS1,2,sewer,mountain tiles never needed them nor did my city & castle pieces. If I did need them to remove fog of war I would need about 10 different sizes of trays because some of my DF rooms are super small and others a larger than 12"x12" and some of the hallways are long and branch off in many directions. I see the magnets/trays as empowering in some ways and restrictive in others. But I do hope they work out great for those who do need them.

Re: No magnets?

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:16 pm
by galahad
I choose to have magnets intalled in all the sets I ordered for myself. DoD and 9 addons where magnets were offered. I have 15 12"x12" trays & 12 8"x4" trays coming so I should be able to prebuild enough rooms for an evening's store play. If they work well I will order more for conventions, etc.

Re: No magnets?

Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:36 pm
by Rabbit Burner
AnimeSensei wrote:
Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:18 pm
No magnets for me; we game at my place, so I'm in the same position as the rabbits typing on the keyboard above.
not so much typing as hopping on the keyboard until some vaguely comprehensible comes out.
Not so much an infinite number of monkeys as a burrow of Mythrasian Rabbits.

Re: No magnets?

Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:18 pm
by AnimeSensei
No magnets for me; we game at my place, so I'm in the same position as the rabbits typing on the keyboard above.

Re: No magnets?

Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 12:02 pm
by Rabbit Burner
No magnets for me.
I have magnetized minis and don't want to run the risk of minis not placing where I want them.

Also I have no need to pre build on trays - it will always be prebuilt on a 6x4 table.

Re: No magnets?

Posted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 11:38 am
by Harliquinn
I decided to go no magnets for all the reasons listed :) I can always buy in bulk and attach to those pieces I want to later on.

Re: No magnets?

Posted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:20 pm
by Shadaraman
kitenerd wrote:
Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:39 pm
I find it interesting that no one from DF has weighed in on the polarity issue...

it would be nice to know that they have a plan/process/intention
Agreed. I pretty much have my pledge figured out, but I've been holding off on finalizing it because I keep going back and forth on magnets. I would prefer to have them pre-installed to save time, but if it's going to cause issues with stacking them for storage then I would probably install them myself instead.

Re: No magnets?

Posted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 12:50 pm
by 93x74R
I went for magnets in everything that had them. Others have pointed out that the real extra cost in in the trays. My only real concern is what will not be magnetised. I suspect my pillars will be falling over a lot.